top of page

about valerie

She loves eating, travelling, gaming. If she's not on her computer, she's probably lazing on her bed or taking a nap. Loves playing RPG/MMORPG games such as Witcher 3 and Fallout 4. Occasionally plays Dota 2 and PUBG. Loves to sing too, though her Youtube account is currently dormant.

Armageddon Avatar Pro X9 Gaming Headset Setup and Review

I've just started using the Avatar Pro X9, and had quite abit of trouble setting it up due to the lack of instructions in their instruction manual. I couldn't Google much information about it either nor did I find any reviews, so I do hope that this one will help you!

How the headset looks on me

I won this headset at GameStart, along with other Armageddon gaming peripherals such as a mouse and even a bagpack. However my headset was still working, and hence I didn't use it up until now.

Headset plus receiver

Transmitter

To be honest, the setting up is quite a hassle. As I'm only using this headset to connect to PC, I found the need for the receiver and transmitter to be quite annoying as there was no direct connection to plug in the headset to my laptop.

Receiver

Headset

First, you have to put 2 AA batteries into the receiver. Armageddon claims that you get up to 10 hours of usage, but I haven't fully tested it yet. You also have to plug in the mic to the headset and lock it in. After that, plug in the USB cable to your laptop and then attach it to the USB power at the transmitter.

Take the red and white audio inputs and plug it into the transmitter (make sure it's the right colour), then plug the other end into your laptop/PC, and make sure the transmitter is switched to Analog mode.

Press and hold the power button to turn on the transmitter. All 5 LEDs should light up. Then turn on the receiver. There should be only one LED that is blinking. This blinking means that it is not synced to the trasmitter yet. Press and hold the sync button on the receiver, and if the LED completely stops blinking, that means that they are both synced, yay! (Also make sure that the 5th LED right beside the Avatar Pro X9 words on the transmitter stays on)

Now you're good to go! Sound wise, it's quite good despite being a wireless gaming headphone! Also, it's 5.1 Dolby Digital surround sound equipped so I shouldn't expect anything less :) You can also connect the X9 for usage with Xbox, PS3 and DVD/Blu-Ray Players!

I've tried listening to songs such as Alesso and Dirty South - City of Dreams, Alesso vs OneRepublic - If I lose myself (Alesso remix). I wouldn't say that the audio is crisp and clear, it seems to be slightly muted perhaps due to some settings somewhere, and the bass and treble is quite decent. Of course, it's meant to be a gaming headset, so I won't complain too much about the audio quality. Gaming wise, when I'm playing games such as Overwatch, I have no problem identifying exactly where my enemies are, thanks to the 5.1 Dolby Digital surround sound :)

However, after setting it up, I've been unable to get my laptop to detect the microphone. I've tried doing the Windows setup for the microphone, but it can't really set it up properly. I've plugged in the microphone separately into my laptop and it actually works fine, so perhaps the headset's jack for the microphone is faulty? I called up Armageddon and their tech support told me to plug in a 3.5mm jack at the receiver, where the Xbox controller logo is, and then connect the other end to the microphone jack in my laptop. I currently don't have such an audio cable and the X9 box didn't seem to come with it, so I guess I will have to update you guys again so stay tuned!

donations

If you like my articles and would like to give me some encouragement or thank me for my help, I'd gladly accept any form/any amount of donations/gratitude, which would go to funding my next computer part, or buying myself a cup of coffee! All donors will be listed in an upcoming donors page :)

bottom of page